The Candacraig estate was previously one of the largest in Scotland, granted to the Anderson family in 1520. This family occupied the house for 10 generations until it was sold in 1866 to the Forbes family. In 1836 the house was largely reconstructed by John Smith, the architect who also designed the Bank of England. Enlarged in the Scottish baronial style with its pepper pot turrets and crow stepped dormer windows based on the design of Chateau Lafite-Rothschild. In 1900, it was purchased by Andrew Wallace whose descendents owned Candacraig until 1980.
In 1955, a fire destroyed the entire south wing of the house. This unfortunate event allowed for much reconstruction of the house to be carried out by architects Marshall McKenzie, the same designers of the Waldorf Astoria hotel and Australia house in the Strand.
More recently the house was owned by Gordon and Anita Roddick, founders of the Bodyshop chain. They undertook a comprehensive program of improvement before selling it to Billy Connolly and Pamela Stephenson in 1998. Candacraig attracted much media attention as Hollywood celebrities became regular guests. The Connolly's acquired the walled garden and courtyard cottages restoring Candacraig's privacy - so much a part of its unique appeal. Lynne and Marc Lino took over ownership in May 2014.